Title: The Best of Uncle Arthur's Bedtime Stories, Volume 2
Author: Arthur S. Maxwell
Illustrator: Andy Collins
Year: 1989 (First Edition)
Binding: Hardback
Publisher: The Stanborough Press Ltd.
ISBN: 0904748413
Book Condition: Good/Very Good
Jacket Condition: N/A


Description: Consists of the following eleven stories, each with a moral intended to "help build stable characters".
  • The lighthouse children
  • When Danny ran away
  • A change of plan
  • Mischievous Maggie
  • Caught by the tide [a true account of the author's own experiences]
  • Bonfire night
  • Just-a-minute Janet
  • Curious Katie's custard cake
  • Ken's baby brother
  • Tom's thoughtlessness
  • The worth of a smile

Each story is illustrated with one full-page colour painting – the faces of some of the children are not dissimilar to that of a ventriloquist's dummy!

Glazed pictorial boards. Upper corners bumped; spine ends negligibly so. Pages are in very good overall condition: bright, unmarked, and free from foxing and tanning. There is, however, some minor staining to the tips of the page leaves. Binding is sound.

Measures 19.5 cm × 13 cm (7.8″ × 5.2″). Large 12mo. 61 pp.

Price: £5.75

Please Select Shipping Destination:

Home About Us Contact Us Store Policies Blog


© 2010-2021 Little White Crow. All rights reserved.

Site designed, built, and maintained by Softmatic Software Solutions.

Best viewed using Firefox 3, Safari 4 or Google Chrome 5 (Internet Explorer 6 and lower may cause erratic behaviour!)